Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

EU pensions

In a European Union Member State, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland the international payment of social benefits and pensions is regulated by regulations (EU) 883/2004 and (EU) 987/2009

The pension types covered by these regulations are retirement pensions, survivors' pensions and disability pensions.

Partner countries

Estonia has signed bilateral cooperation agreements on social security with:

Under a bilateral cooperation agreement on social security a person residing in Estonia can apply for a pension from these countries for periods worked there. It is important for the time worked in such a country to be at least one calendar year long.

When applying for a pension from another country you must file an application and attach documents which prove that you have worked in the other country

Last updated: 11.03.2024

Was this page helpful??